birthday post

Tukru posted a video of an accent meme, and I couldn’t resist recording my own (just audio though). Here’s the text:

Your name.
Where you’re from.
Pronounce the following words: Aunt, Roof, Route, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Pajamas, Caught, Naturally, Aluminium, GIF, Tumblr, Crackerjack, Doorknob, Envelope, GPOY.
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is a bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What is the thing you change the TV channel with?
Choose a book and read a passage from it.
Do you think you have an accent?
Be a wizard or a vampire?
Do you know anyone on Tumblr in real life?
End audio post by saying any THREE words you want.

Listen to me by clicking here: betsy accent

Listen to Dana by clicking here: dana accent

So yes, I am 28 today. I feel more like I’m in my 30s, though. My present from Dana is $30 to spend on music / zines. I ended up spending $20 on an audio upgrade for this blog, though. Silly WordPress.

In addition to my birthday, it is also the day Norwegians celebrate their country’s independence (my family is Norwegian / Swedish – apparently my grandma got the day off school as a kid) and the International Day Against Homophobia (IDAHO, ironically, a place where I experienced homophobia). Here’s what I posted to evil FB:

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon has said, “Sexual orientation and gender identity raise sensitive cultural issues. But cultural practice cannot justify any violation of human rights. When our fellow humans are persecuted because of sexual orientation or gender identity, we must speak out.”

I set up a Last.fm account on Saturday (username sleepysaturday) and I am thoroughly enjoying the process of discovering new music.  The internet was down for most of yesterday and no access to Last.fm or Netflix instant caused me anguish. Oh,the horror!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment