i can see clearly now

My glasses broke on Saturday. This is a big deal, since there are very few things I can do without glasses. All weekend and this morning at Target I had to wear my prescription sunglasses. This might not be such an annoyance if it were actually sunny, but no luck. And it will never be sunny when driving to work at 3 a.m.

This morning after Target I went to the eye doctor. I have a pair of glasses on order and for now I’m wearing a pair of trial contacts. Luckily I wore contacts for years so it was no problem to put them in. However, the one in the right eye is not entirely comfortable yet – I have astigmatism in that eye and the eye doctor said it would take a while to fit comfortably (? don’t remember this before). The pressure in my eyes is also a little high. I wonder if glaucoma is in my future. I have a family history of it.

Also on Saturday, my cat started limping. She has cut one toe quite deeply and injured the ligaments. We are soaking it twice a day in epsom salts and keeping her inside. If it hasn’t improved by Saturday, the vet wants to amputate that toe.

In other news:

We sold our junker car and traded in my truck for a station wagon with a tape deck. I’m listening to all my old mix tapes from high school / college. Kinda fun.

And my stepdaughter moved back to Nevada four days ago. I have mixed feelings about it. It’s definitely a big change in our household.

Edited to add:

Additionally, I no longer have any hair (ok, no more than two inches), my dad just forwarded me info about a reporting assignment with the note “A fun morning awaits you” and there was more than a smidge of sarcasm implied, and I just got a zine order from Things You Say Distro with Scrappy #2, List #14, and Breakfast at Twilight #3. Good Stuff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment